Logo Spielart
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
History | 1995

Artists SPIELART 4. - 15.10. 1995

Dumb Type
Japan S/N
Helena Waldmann Frankfurt Die Krankheit Tod -Marguerite Duras
Arnold Dreyblatt I Fred Pommerehn USA MEMORY ARENA
Bobby Baker Great Britain How to Shop
Xi Ju Che Jian China Die Akte 0
Ralf Knicker Hamburg Memory - Ein Versuch über Erinnerung
Insomniac Productions Great Britain Clair de Luz
Gabriella Bußacker Hamburg Glücksbagatellen
Christoph Nel Frankfurt I Hamburg Wunderblock II
Roy Faudree I No Theater USA Dupe
Michael Laub I Remote Control Sweden The Solo Project
Tokidoki Jido Japan M → m
proT Munich Nibelungen & Deutschlandprojekt, Horizontale IV: Götterdämmerung
Stücke für die Großstadt Berlin HEIMSpiele von David Greenspan
Compagnia Barberio Corsetti Italy Faust nach Goethe


Sam Auinger I Bruce Odland I Robert Ellsworth III. Austria I USA FRAMED a TRYPTICH
Jürgen Fritz I Boris Nieslony (ASA) Cologne I Frankfurt I Munich Rent an Actor
Laura Kikauka Canada Only Seat in the Theatre
Jim Whiting GB Unnatural Bodies
Hans-Peter Litscher I Dr. Iris Grünacker-Janowitz Austria I France Kunst kann ins Auge gehen. Lecture

Theatrum Philosophicum - staged lectures
D. Holland-Moritz, writer I Roi Vaara, performance artist Berlin I Finland Die Nacktheit dieser Lieder
Walter Zimmermann, composer I Hannes Böhringer, philosopher Berlin Abgeschiedenheit
Hanns Zischler, actor I Annette Murschetz, stage designer Berlin I Austria Vor dem Anfang
Christian Bertram, writer I Mary Oliver, violinist Berlin I Netherlands Das philosophische Theater


Dumb Type Japan
Teiji Furuhashi, philosopher, is the director and core of the formation Dumb Type, which was founded in 1984 at the University of Kyoto, the "Mecca of the Japanese underground" (according to Furuhashi). Dumb Type's style is somewhere between video clip and rhythmic live show: "An ambitious enterprise in acting - like in the area of high tech. Dumb Type mixes actors, slides, live music and pre-recorded tapes in rapid succession to create an audiovisual collage" (The Seattle Times).

Helena Waldmann Frankfurt am Main
After working as an assistant director to George Tabori at the Münchner Kammerspiele and working at the Schauspielhaus in Bochum, Helena Waldmann has been working as a freelance director in Frankfurt am Main since 1992.

Arnold Dreyblatt / Fred Pommerehn U.S.
Arnold Dreyblatt was born in 1953 in New York City. He studied literature and new media, as well as electronic music, composition and ethnomusicology. He has been developing performances and teaching since 1975. Arnold Dreyblatt lives in Berlin.
Fred Pommerehn, born in 1964 in the U.S., works primarily as a lighting designer and installation artist. He studied lighting and set design at the North Carolina School of Arts. He has been living in Berlin since 1997.

Xi Ju Che Jian China
Xi Ju Che Jian, in English "workshop theater," was China's first independent theater group. The group toured Europe for a year with their piece "The File 0," directed by Mou Sen. They were guest performers in 1995 at the SPIELART festival.

Christof Nel Germany
Christof Nel began his career in theater as an actor.

After working as a first-time director in Cologne, he worked on productions with Peter Palitzsch in Frankfurt, Claus Peymann in Stuttgart, and at the Deutsches Schauspielhaus in Hamburg. In addition, Nels' interdisciplinary and experimental works have attracted a lot of attention, for instance, the choreographed theater piece "Thränen des Vaterlandes" ("Tears of the Fatherland") from 1986, created together with Heiner Goebbels and William Forsythe's company; the Kleist project "Wortpest" ("Word Plague"); and also the Freud project "Wunderblock II" ("Wonderblock II") with theater studies students and mentally challenged non-professional actors. "Wonderblock II" was performed at SPIELART 1995.

Roy Faudree / No Theater U.S.
Roy Faudree is an actor with the famous New Yorker Wooster Group. In 1974 Roy Faudree founded with Sheena See the experimental theater company No Theater. American critics referred to it as the "best-kept secret in experimental theater" (National Public Radio).
Roy Faudree has been producing the Young @ Heart Chorus since its first show in 1983.

Michael Laub / Remote Control Sweden
Michael Laub, director and choreographer from Belgium, founded the group Remote Control in 1981 in Stockholm. In 1994 they received international acclaim with their production "Rough," the first part of a planned musical entitled "Planet Without Love: a minimal epic." As a second part, this minimalist presented in 1995 at SPIELART his piece "The Solo Project" with Charlotte Engelkes playing the lead.

Tokidoki Jido Japan
The group Tokidoki Jido from Tokyo has developed its own expressive style of music theater that is a radical break from Japan's stage traditions.
"Theater is often a frustration, and then it displays that incomparable miracle of succeeding. When Tokidoki Jido - a Japanese ensemble of approximately twenty performers - performs, this miracle happens practically every minute all over again." taz

Alexeij Sagerer / proT Munich
When you talk about independent theater in Munich, then the first name that comes to mind is Alexeij Sagerer. "Theater heute" wrote that he was probably the most important experimenter in the entire independent scene, and characterized him as a "Woyzeck-like director," who doesn't use the calculations of culture management, but rather strives for and works with his own structure in an almost monomaniac manner.
Alexeij Sagerer was born in 1944 in Plattling, Lower Bavaria. He has been living since 1969 in Munich, where he founded his theater group proT that same year. He and his theater group received the Theater Award of the City of Munich in 1997.

Compagnia G.B. Corsetti
Since the 1970s Giorgio Barberio Corsetti has been considered to be one of the most innovative theater directors in Italy.
In 1975 he founded the theater group "La Gaia Scienza," which became the "Compagnia Giorgio Barberio Corsetti" in the mid-1980s. With this group he advanced to become one of the most renowned contemporary theater artists in Europe.
In 1999 Giorgio Barberio Corsetti was the director of the theater section of the Venice Biennale.

Laura Kikauka Canada
This Canadian has been working in the area of electronic art and performance since 1981. Her strengths are in interweaving high-tech media with her individual life experiences, which she integrates into her works. Laura Kikauka stages sensual spaces and absurd peep shows, which invite the viewer to risk taking a voyeuristic peek.

Jim Whiting Great Britain
After studying to be an electrical engineer and studying visual arts, Jim Whiting has been devoting himself to working on electrical and pneumatic figures that move. Since 1978 he has been producing exhibitions with mechanical figures - bizarre and aggressive, atomized doomsday dancers, which he calls "unnatural bodies." Jim Whiting combines them to create an ensemble and crazy art spectacle, where dreams, fears and hopes are portrayed metaphorically with artifacts of the mechanical-electronic age.

Logo Spielart
English
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Geschichte | 1995

Künstler SPIELART 4. – 15.10. 1995

Dumb Type Japan: S/N
Helena Waldmann Frankfurt: Die Krankheit Tod von Marguerite Duras
Arnold Dreyblatt I Fred Pommerehn USA: MEMORY ARENA
Bobby Baker Großbritannien: How to Shop
Xi Ju Che Jian China: Die Akte 0
Ralf Knicker Hamburg: Memory - Ein Versuch über Erinnerung
Insomniac Productions Großbritannien: Clair de Luz
Gabriella Bußacker Hamburg: Glücksbagatellen
Christoph Nel Frankfurt I Hamburg: Wunderblock II
Roy Faudree I No Theater USA: Dupe
Michael Laub I Remote Control Schweden: The Solo Project
Tokidoki Jido Japan: M → m
proT München: Nibelungen & Deutschlandprojekt, Horizontale IV: Götterdämmerung
Stücke für die Großstadt Berlin: HEIMSpiele von David Greenspan
Compagnia Barberio Corsetti Italien: Faust nach Goethe

 

Sam Auinger I Bruce Odland I Robert Ellsworth III.
Österreich I USA FRAMED a TRYPTICH Szenische Installation
Jürgen Fritz I Boris Nieslony (ASA) Köln I Frankfurt I München: Rent an Actor
Laura Kikauka Kanada: Only Seat in the Theatre Szenische Installation
Jim Whiting Großbritannien: Unnatural Bodies Szenische Installation
Hans-Peter Litscher I Dr. Iris Grünacker-Janowitz Österreich I Frankreich: Kunst kann ins Auge gehen Vortrag

Theatrum Philosophicum Inszenierte Vorträge
D. Holland-Moritz, Schriftsteller I Roi Vaara, Performance-Künstler Berlin I Finnland: Die Nacktheit dieser Lieder
Walter Zimmermann, Komponist I Hannes Böhringer, Philosoph Berlin: Abgeschiedenheit
Hanns Zischler, Schauspieler I Annette Murschetz, Bühnenbildnerin Berlin I Österreich: Vor dem Anfang
Christian Bertram, Schriftsteller I Mary Oliver, Violinistin Berlin I Niederlande: Das philosophische Theater

 

Dumb Type Japan
Um Teiji Furuhashi, Philosoph und Regisseur der Gruppe, entstand 1984 an der Universität von Kyoto, dem „Mekka des japanischen Underground" (Furuhashi), die Formation Dumb Type. Der Stil von Dumb Type liegt zwischen Videoclip und rhythmischer Live-Show: „Ein ehrgeiziges Unternehmen im Schauspiel - wie im High-Tech-Bereich. Dumb Type mischt Schauspieler, Dias, Live-Musik und Bandeinspielungen in schneller Abfolge zu einer audiovisuellen Collage" (The Seattle Times).

Helena Waldmann Frankfurt/M.
Helena Waldmann arbeitet nach Regieassistenzen bei George Tabori an den Münchner Kammerspielen und einem Engagement am Schauspielhaus Bochum seit 1992 als freie Regisseurin in Frankfurt/M.

Arnold Dreyblatt / Fred Pommerehn USA
Arnold Dreyblatt wurde 1953 in New York City geboren und studierte Literatur und Neuen Medien sowie elektronischen Musik, Komposition und Ethno-Musikwissenschaft. Seit 1975 entwickelt er Performances und geht verschiedenen Lehrtätigkeiten nach. Arnold Dreyblatt lebt in Berlin.
Fred Pommerehn, 1964 in den USA geboren, arbeitet hauptsächlich als Licht-Designer und Installationskünstler. Er studierte Licht- und Bühnendesign an der North Carolina School of Arts und lebt seit 1997 in Berlin.

Xi Ju Che Jian China
Xi Ju Che Jian, zu deutsch Werkstatt-Theater, war Chinas erste freie Theatergruppe. Mit ihrem Stück „Die Akte 0" in der Regie von Mou Sen tourte die Gruppe über ein Jahr durch Europa und war 1995 auch bei SPIELART zu Gast.

Christof Nel Deutschland
Christof Nel begann seine Theaterlaufbahn als Schauspieler. Nach ersten Regiearbeiten in Köln folgten Inszenierungen bei Peter Palitzsch in Frankfurt, bei Claus Peymann in Stuttgart und am Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg. Darüber hinaus finden auch Nels interdisziplinäre und experimentelle Arbeiten große Beachtung, darunter das choreographierte Theater "Thränen des Vaterlandes" (1986, gemeinsam mit Heiner Goebbels und der Company von William Forsythe), das Kleist-Projekt "Wortpest" sowie das Freud-Projekt „Wunderblock II" mit Studenten der Theaterwissenschaft und geistig behinderten Laien. "Wunderblock II war bei SPIELART 95 zu Gast."

Roy Faudree / No Theater USA
Roy Faudree, Schauspieler der berühmten New Yorker Wooster Group, gründete 1974 gemeinsam mit Sheena See die experimentelle Theatercompany No Theater. Sie wurde von der amerikanischen Kritik als „das bestgehütetste Geheimnis im experimentellen Theater" (National Public Radio) bezeichnet.
Roy Faudree inszeniert den Young @ Heart Chorus seit dessen erster Show 1983.

 

Michael Laub / Remote Control Schweden
Michael Laub, Regisseur und Choreograph aus Belgien, gründete 1981 in Stockholm die Gruppe Remote Control. 1994 erregte sie mit ihrer Produktion „Rough", dem ersten Teil eines geplanten Musicals mit dem Titel „Planet Without Love: a minimal epic", international Aufsehen. Als zweiten Teil stellte der Minimalist 1995 das Stück „The Solo Project" mit Charlotte Engelkes als Hauptdarstellerin bei SPIELART vor.

Tokidoki Jido Japan
Die Gruppe Tokidoki Jido aus Tokio hat einen eigenen, expressiven Stil des Musiktheaters entwickelt, der radikal mit der Bühnentradition Japans bricht.
"Theater ist oft eine Frustration und dann ist es wieder dieses unvergleichliche Wunder des Gelingens. Wenn Tokidoki Jido, das etwa zwanzigköpfige Ensemble aus Japan spielt, ereignet sich das Wunder praktisch jede Minute von neuem" (taz).

Alexeij Sagerer / proT München
Spricht man von freiem Theater in München, so fällt als erster Name: Alexeij Sagerer. „Theater heute" nannte ihn den wohl bedeutendsten Experimentierer der gesamten freien Szene und charakterisierte ihn als einen „Regie-Woyzeck", der nicht die Kalküle des Kulturbetriebs bedient, sondern geradezu monomanisch seine selbstgesetzte Struktur verfolgt.
Alexeij Sagerer wurde 1944 in Plattling, Niederbayern geboren und lebt seit 1969 in München. Dort gründete er im gleichen Jahr seine Theatergruppe proT, mit der er 1997 den Theaterpreis der Stadt München erhielt.

Compagnia G.B. Corsetti Italien
Giorgio Barberio Corsetti gilt seit den 70er Jahren als einer der innovativsten Theaterregisseure Italiens.
1975 gründete er die Theatergruppe "La Gaia Scienza", aus der Mitte der 80er Jahre die "Compagnia Giorgio Barberio Corsetti" hervorging, mit der er zu einem der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Theaterkünstler in Europa wurde.
1999 leitete Giorgio Barberio Corsetti die Theatersektion der Biennale von Venedig.

Laura Kikauka
Kanada
Seit 1981 arbeitet die Kanadierin im Bereich der elektronischen Kunst und Performance. Ihre Stärke liegt in der Verknüpfung von High-Tech Medien mit ihren individuellen Lebenserfahrungen, die sie in ihre Werke einfließen lässt. Larua Kikauka inszeniert sinnliche Räume, absurde Peep Shows, die den Betrachter einladen, einen voyeuristischen Blick zu riskieren.

Jim Whiting Großbritannien
Nach seiner Ausbildung als Elektroingenieur und dem Studium der bildenden Künste, beschäftigt sich Jim Whiting mit dem Bau von elektrisch und pneumatisch bewegten Figuren. Seit 1978 inszeniert er Ausstellungen mit mechanischen Figuren - skurill-aggressive, atomisierte Endzeittänzer - die er "Unnatural Bodies" nennt. Jim Whiting vereint sie als Ensemble zu einem verrückten Kunstspektakel, in dem metaphorisch die Träume, Ängste und Hoffnungen mittels Artefakten des mechanischen elektronischen Zeitalters dargestellt werden.