Logo Spielart
Deutsch
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
History | 1997

Artists SPIELART 15. - 25.10. 1997

The Builders Association
USA JUMP CUT I The Last Hour
Werner Puntigam Austria Triptychon
Forced Entertainment Great Britain Speak Bitterness
Roy Faudree I No Theater USA DFS de fiance suction
Alexeij Sagerer & proT Munich ... und morgen die ganze Welt
Théâtre du Radeau France Bataille du Tagliamento
Huis a/d Werf Netherlands House of Bamboo
Cornelie Müller Munich Lauter! stille Stücke
Giardini Pensili Italy Metrodora
Amedeo Fago & Fabrizio Beggiato Italy Risotto
Jan Lauwers & Needcompany Belgium Snakesong I Le Désir
Toneelgroep Amsterdam Netherlands Liefhebber
Gob Squad Great Britain Close Enough to Kiss
Adelhard Roidinger Austria Inorganic Movements
Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio Italy Giulio Cesare
Time's up I Tim Boykett I Just Merrit Australia I Austria: Various Simplexities

 



Time's up I Tim Boykett I Just Merrit
Australia I Austria: Various Simplexities
Studio Azzurro Italy Ambienti Sensibili
Rainer Ludwig Munich Lichtdichte

Nachtschräge

Sophie Rois & Peter Donke Berlin Straight from the Heart
HELMHART Munich I Austria Ziegenhund
Irritainment Event Berlin Return to Rented Lagoon
Istvan Kantor Canada Sudden Changes
Hayley Newman Great Britain Record I Shot in the Dark I Microphone Scirt
Harald Ferner I Herbert Nauderer I Walter Weh Munich TRAKT FNW
Marcel.lí Antúnez Roca Spain Epizoo

 

The Builders Association USA
After their celebrated world premiere of "Jump Cut" at SPIELART 97 the Builders Association opened SPIELART 99 with their production JET LAG, an ironic multimedia parable about the mobility and media publicity of our time, with Diller + Scofidio from New York.
Marianne Weems founded the Builders Association in 1993. The group, consisting of established American artists from different fields, produces multimedia performances in which the mode of expression of television, cinema and architecture is examined. The New York multimedia duet Elizabeth Diller and Riccardo Scofidio explore the interfaces between graphic arts, architecture and performance.

Forced Entertainment
Great Britain
Forced Entertainment was founded in 1984. Since then the group has been working more or less in the same formation, developing themes and expressive forms during the working process. Using fragmentary remembrances, ideas and set pieces from old and new stories, they create masterful, comprehensive compositions by means of ingenious timing.
The story of SPIELART is to a large degree also the story of Forced Entertainment, which celebrated their first guest performance at a German festival with their work "Speak Bitterness" at the SPIELART festival in 1997. Since then, SPIELART has coproduced every important new creation by Forced Entertainment, such as the 24-hour performance "Who can sing a song to unfrighten me?" in 1999, which was performed throughout Europe at all of the important festivals; the piece "First Night" in 2001, which split the audience into two camps of those who were shocked and those were captivated; and "Bloody Mess" in 2003, the preliminary result of a work-in-progress that was completed in 2004 for the twentieth anniversary of Forced Entertainment.
"One of the most influential new British theater companies of the last twenty years." The Guardian, London

Roy Faudree / No Theater
USA
Roy Faudree is an actor with the famous New Yorker Wooster Group. In 1974 Roy Faudree founded with Sheena See the experimental theater company No Theater. American critics referred to it as the "best-kept secret in experimental theater" (National Public Radio).
Roy Faudree has been producing the Young @ Heart Chorus since its first show in 1983.

Alexeij Sagerer / proT Munich
When you talk about independent theater in Munich, then the first name that comes to mind is Alexeij Sagerer. "Theater heute" wrote that he was probably the most important experimenter in the entire independent scene, and characterized him as a "Woyzeck-like director," who doesn't use the calculations of culture management, but rather strives for and works with his own structure in an almost monomaniac manner.
Alexeij Sagerer was born in 1944 in Plattling, Lower Bavaria. He has been living since 1969 in Munich, where he founded his theater group proT that same year. He and his theater group received the Theater Award of the City of Munich in 1997

Cornelie Müller Germany
Cornelie Müller, music- and theatermaker and confidential sound adviser, works as a freelance director and producer in the borderland between music and theater. Essential components of her work process involve working closely with actors as well as musicians, structuring the musical and scenic developments into an order of events, and the visual arrangement of the space. Numerous works have been created that allow the spaces to produce sounds and that make music visible. For years now she has been dealing with folk music and regional identities in the field of tension of today's realities.


 

Jan Lauwers/ Needcompany Belgium
Jan Lauwers, born in 1957 in Antwerpen, studied painting in Ghent and founded the Epigonen Ensemble in Brussels in 1979. Needcompany was founded from this ensemble in 1987. Since then the ensemble has had guest performances at all of the well-known theater festivals and on all of the well-known theater stages in Europe.
Jan Lauwers already was a member of the avant-garde in Flanders in the early 1980s, which unleashed a radical change in the arts. Lauwers' background as a visual artist had a huge influence on the way he approaches things in the theater, and resulted in an extremely individual and in many ways pioneering theatrical method of expression, which examines theater and its meaning. In addition to Jan Lauwers, Grace Ellen Barkey and Viviane De Muynck should be mentioned as key figures in this artists' collective.

Gob Squad
Great Britain/Germany
Gob Squad is a group of English and German artists that have been producing performances, installations, films and live events since 1994. The group experiments with different media and new technology.
In 2001 "The Finalists," the winner of the webscene competition, was produced as part of the SPIELART festival.
"The Finalists," four Internet identities, leave their traces in the World Wide Web: They develop fictional characters on various home pages during the festival by using the expressive means of the Internet - favorite links, videos, photos, and chats. During the phases of live-streaming, "The Finalists" communicate with each other and with the audience. The unlimitedness of the possibilities brings to light obsessions, self-destructive acts and bizarre fixations. The audience join in and chat along, and participate in the identity game and in the struggle for attention in the universe of unlimited possibilities ...

Romeo Castellucci/ Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio Italy
Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio was founded in 1981 in Cesena and was named after the famous painter and architect of the High Renaissance, Raffaello Santi, who is better known as Raphael. Since then, this theater group led by Romeo Castellucci has been one of the most radical representatives of "nuovo teatro" in Italy. Starting with iconoclastic theater (iconoclasm: image breaking; opposing and destroying icons), the Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio has developed its own theatrical language over the course of twenty years working in theater. The group attracted worldwide attention during recent years in particular with their contemporary adaptations of classical material and their richness of images. Romeo Castellucci has been considered to be a trailblazer of avant-garde theater in Italy since the early 1990s. He was the director of the Theater Biennale in Venice in 2005.

Logo Spielart
English
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Geschichte | 1997

Künstler SPIELART 15. - 25.10. 1997

The Builders Association
USA JUMP CUT I The Last Hour
Werner Puntigam Österreich Triptychon
Forced Entertainment Großbritannien Speak Bitterness
Roy Faudree I No Theater USA DFS de fiance suction
Alexeij Sagerer & proT München ... und morgen die ganze Welt
Théâtre du Radeau Frankreich Bataille du Tagliamento
Huis a/d Werf Niederlande House of Bamboo
Cornelie Müller München Lauter! stille Stücke
Giardini Pensili Italien Metrodora
Amedeo Fago & Fabrizio Beggiato Italien Risotto
Jan Lauwers & Needcompany Belgien Snakesong I Le Désir
Toneelgroep Amsterdam Niederlande Liefhebber
Gob Squad Großbritannien Close Enough to Kiss
Adelhard Roidinger Österreich Inorganic Movements
Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio Italien Giulio Cesare

 

Time's up I Tim Boykett I Just Merrit
Australien I Österreich Various Simplexities - Szenische Installation
Studio Azzurro Italien Ambienti Sensibili Mediale Ausstellung
Rainer Ludwig München Lichtdichte

Nachtschräge
Sophie Rois & Peter Donke
Berlin: Straight from the Heart
HELMHART München I Österreich: Ziegenhund
Irritainment Event Berlin: Return to Rented Lagoon
Istvan Kantor Kanada: Sudden Changes
Hayley Newman Großbritannien: Record I Shot in the Dark I Microphone Scirt
Harald Ferner I Herbert Nauderer I Walter Weh München: TRAKT FNW
Marcel.lí Antúnez Roca Spanien: Epizoo
 

The Builders Association USA
Nach ihrer gefeierten Uraufführung von "Jump Cut" bei SPIELART 97, eröffnete die Builders Association zusammen mit Diller + Scofidio aus New York SPIELART 99 mit ihrer Produktion JET LAG, einer ironischen Multimedia-Parabel auf die Mobilität und Medienöffentlichkeit unserer Zeit.
Marianne Weems gründete 1993 The Builders Association. Die Gruppe setzt sich aus etablierten amerikanischen Künstlern unterschiedlichster Bereiche zusammen und produziert Multi-Media-Performances, in denen die Ausdrucksweisen von Fernsehen, Kino und Architektur untersucht werden. Das New Yorker Multimedia-Duo Elizabeth Diller und Riccardo Scofidio erforscht die Schnittstellen von bildender Kunst, Architektur und Performance.

Forced Entertainment Großbritannien
Forced Entertainment wurde 1984 gegründet. Seitdem arbeitet die Gruppe in nahezu derselben Formation zusammen und entwickelt Themen und Ausdrucksformen während des Arbeitsprozesses. Aus fragmentarischen Erinnerungen, Ideen und Versatzstücken aus alten und neuen Geschichten entsteht durch ein ausgeklügeltes Timing eine meisterhafte Gesamtkomposition.
Die Geschichte von SPIELART ist zu einem großen Teil auch die Geschichte von Forced Entertainment, die mit ihrem SPIELART-Auftritt "Speak Bitterness" 1997 erstmals bei einem deutschen Festival gastierte. Seitdem hat SPIELART alle wichtigen neuen Kreationen von Forced Entertainment koproduziert, so 1999 die 24-Stunden-Vorstellung "Who can sing a song to unfrighten me?", die europaweit auf allen wichtigen Festivals gezeigt wurde, 2001 das Stück "First Night", das das Publikum in Entrüstete und Entzückte spaltete und 2003 „Bloody Mess", als vorläufiges Ergebnis eines Work-in-Progress, der 2004 zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum von Forced Entertainment abgeschlossen wurde.

"Eine der einflussreichsten neuen britischen Theaterkompanien der letzten 20 Jahre". (The Guardian, London)

Roy Faudree / No Theater USA
Roy Faudree, Schauspieler der berühmten New Yorker Wooster Group, Roy Faudree gründete 1974 gemeinsam mit Sheena See die experimentelle Theatercompany No Theater. Sie wurde von der amerikanischen Kritik als „das bestgehütetste Geheimnis im experimentellen Theater" (National Public Radio) bezeichnet.
Roy Faudree inszeniert den Young @ Heart Chorus seit dessen erster Show 1983.

Alexeij Sagerer / proT München
Spricht man von freiem Theater in München, so fällt als erster Name: Alexeij Sagerer. „Theater heute" nannte ihn den wohl bedeutendsten Experimentierer der gesamten freien Szene und charakterisierte ihn als einen „Regie-Woyzeck", der nicht die Kalküle des Kulturbetriebs bedient, sondern geradezu monomanisch seine selbstgesetzte Struktur verfolgt.
Alexeij Sagerer wurde 1944 in Plattling, Niederbayern geboren und lebt seit 1969 in München. Dort gründete er im gleichen Jahr seine Theatergruppe proT, mit der er 1997 den Theaterpreis der Stadt München erhielt.

Cornelie Müller Deutschland
Cornelie Müller, Musik- und Theaterfrau, geheime Klangrätin, arbeitet als freie Regisseurin und Produzentin im Grenzbereich von Musik und Theater. Wesentliche Bestandteile ihres Vorgehens sind die Zusammenarbeit mit SchauspielerInnen wie mit MusikerInnen und die Strukturierung musikalisch-szenischer Entwicklungen zu Abläufen, ebenso wie die bildnerische Gestaltung des Raums. Es sind zahlreiche Arbeiten entstanden, die Räume zum Klingen bringen und Musik sichtbar werden lassen. Seit Jahren beschäftigt sie sich mit Volksmusik und regionalen Identitäten im Spannungsfeld zu heutigen Lebenswirklichkeiten.

 Jan Lauwers / Needcompany Belgien
Jan Lauwers, 1957 in Antwerpen geboren, studierte Malerei in Gent und gründete 1979 in Brüssel das Epigonen Ensemble. Daraus entstand 1987 die Needcompany, die seitdem auf allen bekannten Bühnen und Theaterfestivals in Europa zu Gast ist.
Jan Lauwers gehörte bereits in den frühen 80er Jahren zu der Avantgarde Flanderns, die einen radikalen Wandel in den Künsten ausgelöst hatte. Lauwers' Hintergrund als Bildender Künstler prägte sehr stark seine Herangehensweise an das Theater und führte zu einer höchst individuellen und in vielerlei Hinsicht bahnbrechenden theatralischen Ausdrucksweise, die das Theater und seine Bedeutung untersucht. Neben Jan Lauwers sind Grace Ellen Barkey und Viviane De Muynck als Schlüsselfiguren des Künstlerkollektives zu nennen.

Gob Squad Großbritannien/Deutschland
Gob Squad ist eine Gruppe englischer und deutscher Künstler, die seit 1994 Performances, Installationen, Filme und Live Events produziert. Dabei experimentiert die Gruppe mit verschiedenen Medien und neuer Technologie.
2001 wurde „The Finalists" im Rahmen des Festivals SPIELART als Siegerbeitrag des Wettbewerb webscene produziert.
"The Finalists", vier Internet-Identitäten, legen ihre Spuren im world wide web aus: Auf verschiedenen Homepages entwickeln sie im Zeitraum des Festivals mit den Ausdrucksformen des Internets - Lieblingslinks, Videos, Fotos, Chats - fiktive Charaktere. In den Phasen des Live-Streamings kommunizieren "The Finalists" untereinander und mit dem Publikum. Die Grenzenlosigkeit der Möglichkeiten bringt Obsessionen, selbstzerstörerische Akte und bizarre Fixierungen ans Licht. Die Zuschauer können mitchatten und teilhaben am Spiel der Identitäten und am Kampf um die Aufmerksamkeit im Universum der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten ...

Romeo Castellucci/ Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio Italien
Die Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio wurde 1981 in Cesena gegründet und nach dem berühmten Maler und Baumeister der Hochrenaissance, Raffaello Santi, besser bekannt als Raffael, benannt. Seither gehört diese Theatergruppe um Romeo Castellucci zu den radikalsten Vertretern des „nuovo teatro" in Italien. Ausgehend von einem ikonoklastischen Theater (Ikonoklasmus = Bildersturm; Abschaffung und Zerstörung von Heiligenbildern) hat die Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio in ihrer zwanzigjährigen Arbeit eine eigene Theatersprache entwickelt. Vor allem waren es ihre bildreichen zeitgenössischen Adaptionen klassischer Stoffe, mit denen die Gruppe in den letzten Jahren weltweit Aufsehen erregte. Seit Beginn der 90er Jahre gilt Romeo Castellucci als Vorreiter der Theateravantgarde Italiens. 2005 leitete er die Theaterbiennale in Venedig.