Logo Spielart
Deutsch
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
History | 1999

Artists SPIELART 4. - 20.11. 1999


The Builders Association I Diller + Scofidio
USA: Jet Lag
François Béchu I Théâtre de l'Echappée France: Mendel Schainfeld, le deuxième voyage à Munich
Eimuntas Nekrosius I Meno Fortas Theatre CompanyLithuania: Makbetas I Macbeth
Showcase Beat Le Mot Germany: Grand Slam
Acco Theatre Centre Israel: The Anthology
Theater Basel & Stimmhorn Switzerland: Verlust der Stille
The Young at Heart Chorus USA: Road to Heaven
Forced Entertainment Great Britain: Who Can Sing a Song to Unfrighten Me?
Fanny & Alexander Italy: Ponti in Core
Teddy Bear Company Italy: Ba'al Zebub I Peep Show
Station House Opera GB: Roadmetal Sweetbread
Wim Vandekeybus Belgium: In Spite of Wishing and Wanting
Teatr Cinema Poland: Billard
Alexander Gerner Germany: Cut

 

Stück für Stück - A performance festivity in six courses

Roman Signer I Pierre Favre Switzerland: Möblierung - Performance time sculpture with percussion
Seiji Shimoda Japan: Dialog
Akemi Takeya Japan I Austria: Bodypoems - Reflections
Maren Strack Germany: ICE Lise Meitner
Fen-Ma Liuming China: Fen-Ma Liuming München
Toshimasa Furukawa Japan: $B!H (JE.V.E. $B!I (J

Actor's Choice - Actor's Sketches

Richard Crane mit Marta Oldenburg GB I Sweden: The Cunt and Dick Show
Natali Seelig mit Cha-Cha Danzig Germany: Geküsst - Vom bösen Wind geküsst oder: Menschen, die die Welt nicht braucht
Viviane De Muynck mit Martijn Vink Belgium: The Sound of Time. When T.S. Eliot meets J.S. Bach
Wu Wenguang mit Walter Siegfried China I Germany: Do You Have Dinner?

Actor 2000 - Global Player or Local Hero? - International symposium

 

The Builders Association USA
After their celebrated world premiere of "Jump Cut" at SPIELART 97 the Builders Association opened SPIELART 99 with their production JET LAG, an ironic multimedia parable about the mobility and media publicity of our time, with Diller + Scofidio from New York.
Marianne Weems founded the Builders Association in 1993. The group, consisting of established American artists from different fields, produces multimedia performances in which the mode of expression of television, cinema and architecture is examined. The New York multimedia duet Elizabeth Diller and Riccardo Scofidio explore the interfaces between graphic arts, architecture and performance.

François Béchu / Théâtre de l'Echappée France
François Béchu is an actor and a director. In 1999 he was a guest performer at Spielart with his production "Mendel Schainfeld - Le Deuxième Voyage à Munich." Hans-Dieter Grabe's 1971 documentary film about Mendel Schainfeld's journey provided him with a starting point for his theater piece. François Béchu plays Mendel Schainfeld, who tells stories from his life to his traveling companions while on his way to Munich. The audience is a witness of a time period, and the stage is a real railroad car.

Eimuntas Nekrosius / Meno Fortas Theater Company
Lithuania
Born in 1952 in Lithuania, the director Eimuntas Nekrosius has influenced the development of a new style in Lithuanian theater with his productions. His works are poetic and metaphoric, and their main focus is on the precise and three-dimensional performances of the actors. The visual language of Nekrosius is filled with multiple layers of meanings. In his production of "Makbetas," performed at the SPIELART 1999 festival, huge swinging tree trunks determine the rhythm. "The sudden flood of mysterious, cryptic images keep posing questions ..." (Theater heute, April, 1999).
In 1988 he and his theater in Vilnius became famous overnight in the West with their guest performances of "Uncle Vanja." They followed that production with Puschkin's "Mozart and Salieri. Don Juan. Plague," and Chekhov's "Three Sisters." Both productions were awarded numerous prizes. Nekrosius' version of Shakespeare's "Hamlet" was created as a coproduction with the Hebbel Theater in Berlin. Hamlet was played by the young Lithuanian rock star Andrius Mamontovas, whose melancholic songs, according to Nekrosius, have the power to turn a horde of juveniles into "tame lambs." Under Nekrosius' direction, the stage transforms into an "icy children's hell," into a "torture chamber of slave-driving fathers and their mistreated children." Ice water incessantly drips onto the stage. Sigrid Löffler wrote these comments on the production for the weekly newspaper "Die Zeit": "Vilnius' Hamlet is a Hamlet for advanced students. Nekrosius doesn't stage the text, he translates the subtext into images. As a neurotic, tortured oedipal child prince, this Hamlet has no equal."

Showcase Beat Le Mot
Germany
Showcase Beat Le Mot is a collective of six performers who work in a large artists' network. All of them studied at the Gießen Institute for Applied Theatre Studies. Showcase Beat Le Mot examines the connection between leisure time and work in a society in which millions of people do not have a job - or do not know how to kill time.

Acco Theater Center Israel
The Acco Theater Center blazes new trails in the area of social theater, and it has given itself the goal of striving for strong alliances between Arabian and Jewish artists. The ATC was founded by David Maayan und Smadar Yaaron; Ms. Yaaron has played a central role in this theater's history as a actor and artistic director since that time. Smadar Yaaron was born in Petach Tikva, Israel, and she spent part of her childhood in Czechoslovakia. From 1976-80 she studied social theater at the University of Tel Aviv. Today she teaches at the University of Haifa.

Theater Basel & Stimmhorn
Switzerland
The two musicians Christian Zehnder and Balthasar Streif make up the duo Stimmhorn, which dare to cross the borders of Helvetian soundscapes with Alphorn and harmonic singing. Zehnder and Streiff were given several commissions for compositions and awarded several prizes for their willingness to experiment in innovative ways. They have been enchanting audiences all over the world with their incomparable concerts in the meantime.
In "Verlust der Stille" ("The Loss of Silence") Stimmhorn presented in 1999 for the first time a scenic piece, which they created as a musical-archeological project together with actors from Theater Basel.
"Extremely serious, technically brilliant, and totally crazy .... You just have to experience it! They belong in a category closer to art than to music; they are typical local, living sculptures - and much more amusing than Gilbert and George." The Guardian

The Young at Heart Chorus
USA
The producer Roy Faudree was a guest at SPIELART in 1995 with "DUPE" and in 1997 with "DFS - De Fiance Suction". 1999 he presented a special kind of music theatre with "Road to Heaven". The performers of the Young at Heart Chorus, all of whom are between 66 and 94 years of age, take the audience on an unusual yet moving journey through the stories of their lives. The stops along this "Sentimental Journey" are songs of yesterday and today by Bob Dylan, the Bee Gees, by the Talking Heads and many others.
"Road to Heaven" is dedicated to all those chorus members who have died within the last 15 years - especially R. Warren Clark and Anna Main. R. Warren Clark was famous for his imitation of Sophie Tucker, the vaudeville star of the 1920s, who as Red Hot Mama got audiences cheering loudly. Anna Main, mother of 21 children, was one of the leading ladies of the chorus until the day of her death.
The members of the Young at Heart Chorus live in an old people's home in Massachusetts where they practice regularly. Since 1982 they have appeared at international festivals and work with colleagues from various fields - e.g. Hispanic-American break-dancers, musicians and dancers from Cambodia and Puerto Rico and the Pioneer Valley Gay Men's Chorus.

Forced Entertainment
Great Britain
Forced Entertainment was founded in 1984. Since then the group has been working more or less in the same formation, developing themes and expressive forms during the working process. Using fragmentary remembrances, ideas and set pieces from old and new stories, they create masterful, comprehensive compositions by means of ingenious timing.
The story of SPIELART is to a large degree also the story of Forced Entertainment, which celebrated their first guest performance at a German festival with their work "Speak Bitterness" at the SPIELART festival in 1997. Since then, SPIELART has coproduced every important new creation by Forced Entertainment, such as the 24-hour performance "Who can sing a song to unfrighten me?" in 1999, which was performed throughout Europe at all of the important festivals; the piece "First Night" in 2001, which split the audience into two camps of those who were shocked and those were captivated; and "Bloody Mess" in 2003, the preliminary result of a work-in-progress that was completed in 2004 for the twentieth anniversary of Forced Entertainment.
"One of the most influential new British theater companies of the last twenty years." The Guardian, London

Fanny & Alexander
Italy
The performance group Fanny & Alexander was formed in Ravenna in 1992. As one of the youngest groups of the "new wave" of Italian neo-avantgarde theatres it was awarded the Premio Bertolucci and the Premio Coppola Prati in 1997. A branch of Fanny & Alexander is the Teddy Bear Company, which has been carrying out campaigns in the public sector since 1993.




 

Station House Opera Great Britain
The London company Station House Opera was founded in 1980, and since then it has gained an international reputation for its astounding works that are very relevant to the specific performance space.
The productions take place all over the world in a wide variety of venues, from the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City to Dresden's Frauenkirche, or the cathedral in Salisbury.

Wim Vandekeybus/Ultima Vez
Belgium
Wim Vandekeybus is director, choreographer, actor and photographer. After working together with Jan Fabre for two years, he set up his own structure for working, Ultima Vez. Ultima Vez is a company consisting of a dozen young artists and actors and several artistic, technical and administrative colleagues. In 1999 he was a guest performer at Spielart with the production "In Spite of Wishing and Wanting." This piece was created in collaboration with musician David Byrne (formerly of "Talking Heads").

Teatr Cinema
Poland
Teatr Cinema was founded in 1992 by Zbigniew Szumski. Since that time, the company has worked on pieces as "a revolt of the imagination against the routine of reality." The style of Teatr Cinema is characterized by a vibrant poetry between normality and abstraction, inspired by paintings by René Magritte, texts by Samuel Beckett, and art from the Dadaists. Teatr Cinema is considered to be one of the most internationally renowned representatives of the theater scene in Poland.
Jerzy Lukosz, one of the best known contemporary authors and playwrights in Poland, had this to say about the work of Teatr Cinema: "Someone once said that ninety-nine percent of everything that calls itself art is not art at all. If I can say something with certainty, then it is this: The work of Teatr Cinema is part of that one percent the skeptics have reserved for art. Kantor and Marthaler are in good company here."

Alexander Gerner
Germany
In 1998 the writer and producer Alexander Gerner presented the multimedia performance "Zap Through My Life" in the Munich Muffathalle which met with great success. The Süddeutsche Zeitung wrote: "Without moralising, Alexander Gerner succeeds in making the paradox mechanisms of media machinery transparent, which are steered by voyeurism and exhibitionism, a machinery in which we all play a role, whether we want to or not."

Stück für Stück - A performance festivity in six courses

Roman Signer/Pierre Favre
Switzerland
Roman Signer, born in Appenzell, studied in Zurich and Warsaw, worked at a pressure-cooker firm and took part in the Biennale in Venice in 1999. Pierre Favre, a drummer and percussionist born in Switzerland, has played in various European big bands and with famous jazz players from America and Europe. His interest in complicated rhythms and new sounds led him to world music via free jazz.

Seiji Shimoda Japan
Seiji Shimoda is performance artist, poet and director of NIPAF (Nippon International Performance Art Festival). Born in 1951 in Nagano, Japan, he started to write poetry in highschool and then discovered performance art. Shimoda explores the boundaries of writing with his action poetry. Using his large network of international performance artists, Shimoda organizes Nippon International Performance Art Festival since 1993.

Akemi Takeya
Japan/Austria
The dancer, choreographer, performer and musician Akemi Takeya comes from Japan. She interwove the structures of Butoh with other Japanese and European dance forms, thus creating an autonomous body language.

Maren Strack Germany
Maren Strack was born in 1967 in Hamburg, and studied at the Academy of Visual Arts in Munich. In her performances she moves between sculpture and dance. She constructs stories using movement, props and noises, and the stories tell something different to each member of the audience.
In 1995 Maren Strack received a sponsorship grant for theater and dance from the City of Munich, and she was awarded a grant to study at Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart, in 2001.

Fen-Ma Liuming
China
Fen-Ma Liuming's themes bear the imprint of his daily experiences, of his position as an outsider, of the capitalisation and the upheavals of society in China.
Since 1993 he has been living and working in Peking, where he had to spend two months in prison in 1995 for the "obscenity" of his performances. The performance of his work is only permitted in private rooms in China.

Toshimasa Furukawa
Japan
Toshimasa Furukawa endeavours to vegetalise or to mineralise his body in various ways. He runs an antiquarian bookshop in Osaka.

Actor's Choice - Actor's Sketches

Richard Crane/Marta Oldenburg
Great Britain/Sweden
Richard Crane, member of the group Remote Control and an actor in advertising films and B movies, lives and works as a freelance actor and performer in London. The Swede Marta Oldenburg has been engaged as a dancer, actress, performer, accordion player and singer by Remote Control and Ingmar Bergman amongst others.

Natali Seelig
Germany
The magazine "Theater heute" crowned Natali Seelig "Actress of the Year" in 1998. After studying acting at the Otto Falckenberg School in Munich, she was hired by Staatstheater Hannover in 1992. One year later she followed general administrator Eberhard Witt when he moved to Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel. After working at the Burgtheater in Vienna, Natali Seelig has been a member of the ensemble of Thalia Theater in Hamburg since the 2002/2003 season.

Viviane De Muynck/Martijn Vink
Belgium
Viviane De Muynck, protagonist of the Needcompany in Brussels for many years, is regarded worldwide as one of the most renowned freelance actresses. Martijn Vink works as a cellist for various ensembles.

Wu Wenguang/Walter Siegfried
China/Germany
Wu Wenguang lives and works as a documentary film maker and performer in Peking. Walter Siegfried, who has a doctor's degree in psychology, works as a performer and singer in Munich.

Logo Spielart
English
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Geschichte | 1999

Künstler SPIELART 4. - 20.11. 1999

The Builders Association I Diller + Scofidio USA: Jet Lag
François Béchu I Théâtre de l'Echappée Frankreich:
Mendel Schainfeld, le deuxième voyage à Munich
Eimuntas Nekrosius I Meno Fortas Theatre CompanyLitauen: Makbetas I Macbeth
Showcase Beat Le Mot Deutschland: Grand Slam. Ein Spiel in drei Sätzen
Acco Theatre Centre Israel: The Anthology
Theater Basel & Stimmhorn Schweiz: Verlust der Stille
The Young at Heart Chorus USA: Road to Heaven
Forced Entertainment Großbritannien: Who Can Sing a Song to Unfrighten Me?
Fanny & Alexander Italien: Ponti in Core
Teddy Bear Company Italien: Ba'al Zebub I Peep Show
Station House Opera Großbritannien: Roadmetal Sweetbread
Wim Vandekeybus Belgien: In Spite of Wishing and Wanting
Teatr Cinema Polen: Billard
Alexander Gerner Deutschland: Cut


 

Stück für Stück - Ein Performance-Fest in sechs Gängen

Roman Signer I Pierre Favre Schweiz: Möblierung - Performance-Zeitskulptur mit Percussion
Seiji Shimoda Japan: Dialog
Akemi Takeya Japan I Österreich: Bodypoems - Reflections
Maren Strack Deutschland: ICE Lise Meitner
Fen-Ma Liuming China: Fen-Ma Liuming München
Toshimasa Furukawa Japan: $B!H (JE.V.E. $B!I (J

Actor's Choice - Schauspielerskizzen

Richard Crane mit Marta Oldenburg Großbritannien I Schweden: The Cunt and Dick Show
Natali Seelig mit Cha-Cha Danzig Deutschland: Geküsst - Vom bösen Wind geküsst oder: Menschen, die die Welt nicht braucht
Viviane De Muynck mit Martijn Vink Belgien: The Sound of Time. When T.S. Eliot meets J.S. Bach
Wu Wenguang mit Walter Siegfried China I Deutschland: Do You Have Dinner?

Actor 2000 - Global Player oder Local Hero? -
Internationales Symposium

 

The Builders Association USA
Nach ihrer gefeierten Uraufführung von "Jump Cut" bei SPIELART 97, eröffnete die Builders Association zusammen mit Diller + Scofidio aus New York SPIELART 99 mit ihrer Produktion JET LAG, einer ironischen Multimedia-Parabel auf die Mobilität und Medienöffentlichkeit unserer Zeit.
Marianne Weems gründete 1993 The Builders Association. Die Gruppe setzt sich aus etablierten amerikanischen Künstlern unterschiedlichster Bereiche zusammen und produziert Multi-Media-Performances, in denen die Ausdrucksweisen von Fernsehen, Kino und Architektur untersucht werden. Das New Yorker Multimedia-Duo Elizabeth Diller und Riccardo Scofidio erforscht die Schnittstellen von bildender Kunst, Architektur und Performance.

François Béchu / Théâtre de l'Echappée
Frankreich
François Béchu ist Schauspieler und Regisseur. 1999 war er mit "Mendel Schainfeld - Le Deuxième Voyage à Munich" bei Spielart zu Gast. Hans-Dieter Grabes 1971 gedrehter Dokumentarfilm über Mendel Schainfelds Reise dient ihm dabei als Ausgangspunkt für sein Theaterstück. François Béchu ist Mendel Schainfeld, der auf der Fahrt nach München den Mitreisenden aus seinem Leben erzählt. Die Zuschauer sind Zeitzeugen, die Bühne ein echter Eisenbahnwaggon.

Eimuntas Nekrosius / Meno Fortas Theatre Company Litauen
Der 1952 in Litauen geborene Regisseur Eimuntas Nekrosius hat mit seinen Inszenierungen einen neuen Stil im litauischen Theater geprägt. Seine Arbeiten sind poetisch-metaphorisch, das Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf dem präzisen und plastischen Spiel der Akteure. Die Bildsprache von Nekrosius ist voller vielschichtiger Bedeutungen - in seiner Inszenierung „Makbetas", die bei SPIELART 99 zu sehen war, geben gewaltige schwingende Baumstämme den Rhythmus vor. „Die Sturzflut geheimnisvoll-verrätselter Bilder stellt immerzu Fragen..." (Theater heute, 4/99)
1988 wurden er und sein Theater in Vilnius durch eine Gastspielreise mit "Onkel Wanja" schlagartig im Westen berühmt. Es folgten von Puschkin "Mozart und Salieri. Don Juan. Pest" und Tschechows "Drei Schwestern", beide Inszenierungen wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Nekrosius' Version von Shakespeares "Hamlet" entstand als Koproduktion mit dem Berliner Hebbel-Theater. Den Hamlet spielte der junge litauische Rockstar Andrius Mamontovas, dessen melancholische Lieder, so Nekrosius, die Kraft besitzen, eine Horde Jugendlicher "sanft wie Lämmer" werden zu lassen. Unter Nekrosius' Regie verwandelte sich die Bühne in "eine eisige Kinderhölle", in einen "Folterkerker der Schinderväter und der geschundenen Kinder" - unaufhörlich tropfte das Eiswasser auf die Bühne. Sigrid Löffler kommentierte die eindrucksvolle Inszenierung in der "Zeit": "Der Hamlet von Vilnius ist ein Hamlet für Fortgeschrittene. Nekrosius inszeniert nicht den Text, er übersetzt den Subtext in Bilder. Als neurotisch zerquälter ödipaler Kinderprinz hat dieser Hamlet nicht seinesgleichen."

Showcase Beat Le Mot
Deutschland
Showcase Beat Le Mot ist ein Kollektiv von sechs Performern, die in einem ausgedehnten Künstlernetzwerk arbeiten. Alle haben am Gießener Institut für angewandte Theaterwissenschaft studiert. Showcase Beat Le Mot untersucht den Zusammenhang von Freizeit und Arbeit in einer Gesellschaft, in der Millionen von Menschen keine Arbeit haben - oder nicht wissen, wie sie ihre Zeit totschlagen sollen.

Acco Theatre Center Israel
Das Acco Theatre Center geht neue Wege im Bereich des Sozialen Theaters und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, starke Allianzen zwischen arabischen und jüdischen Künstlern zu fördern. Gegründet wurde das ATC von David Maayan und Smadar Yaaron, die seither als Schauspielerin und Künstlerische Leiterin eine zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte des Hauses spielt. Smadar Yaaron wurde in Petach Tikva, Israel, geboren und verbrachte einen Teil ihrer Kindheit in der Tschechoslowakei. Von 1976-80 studierte sie Soziales Theater an der Universität von Tel Aviv und lehrt heute selbst an der Universität von Haifa.

Theater Basel & Stimmhorn Schweiz
Die beiden Musiker Christian Zehnder und Balthasar Streif bilden das Duo Stimmhorn, das mit Alphorn und Obertongesang Grenzgänge in der helvetischen Klangtopographie wagt. Für ihre innovative Experimentierfreudigkeit wurden Zehnder und Streiff mehrfach mit Kompositionsaufträgen bedacht und mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Mit ihren unvergleichlichen Konzerten begeistern sie mittlerweile das Publikum auf der ganzen Welt.
Mit "Verlust der Stille" stellte Stimmhorn 1999 zum ersten Mal eine szenische Arbeit vor, die sie gemeinsam mit Schauspielern des Theaters Basel als musikalisch-archäologisches Projekt erarbeitet haben.
"Ausgesprochen ernsthaft, technisch brillant und total verrückt... Man muss sie einfach erleben! Näher bei der Kunst als bei der Musik anzusiedeln, sind sie ortstypische, lebende Skulpturen - und viel amüsanter als Gilbert und George." [The Guardian]

The Young at Heart Chorus USA
Der Regisseur Roy Faudree war bereits 1995 mit "DUPE" und 1997 mit "DFS - De Fiance Suction" zu Gast bei SPIELART und zeigte 1999 mit "Road to Heaven" Musiktheater der besonderen Art. Die Darsteller des Young at Heart Chorus - alle sind zwischen 66 und 94 Jahre alt - nahmen das Publikum mit auf eine ungewöhnliche und bewegende Reise durch ihre Lebensgeschichten. Die Haltestellen dieser "Sentimental Journey" sind Lieder von gestern und heute, von Bob Dylan, den Bee Gees, von den Talking Heads und vielen anderen.
"Road to Heaven" ist all jenen Chorus-Mitgliedern gewidmet, die in den vergangenen 15 Jahren gestorben sind - besonders R. Warren Clark und Anna Main. R. Warren Clark war berühmt für seine Imitation des 20er-Jahre-Vaudeville-Stars Sophie Tucker, die als Red Hot Mama das Publikum zum Jubeln brachte. Anna Main, Mutter von 21 Kindern, war bis zu ihrem Todestag eine der "Leading Ladies" des Chors.
Die Mitglieder des Young at Heart Chorus wohnen in einem Altenheim in Massachussetts, wo sie auch regelmäßig proben. Seit 1982 treten sie u. a. bei internationalen Festivals auf und arbeiten mit Kollegen aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen zusammen - zum Beispiel mit hispano-amerikanischen Breakdancern, mit Musikern und Tänzern aus Kambodscha und Puerto Rico und mit dem Pioneer Valley Gay Men's Chorus.

Forced Entertainment
Großbritannien
Forced Entertainment wurde 1984 gegründet. Seitdem arbeitet die Gruppe in nahezu derselben Formation zusammen und entwickelt Themen und Ausdrucksformen während des Arbeitsprozesses. Aus fragmentarischen Erinnerungen, Ideen und Versatzstücken aus alten und neuen Geschichten entsteht durch ein ausgeklügeltes Timing eine meisterhafte Gesamtkomposition.
Die Geschichte von SPIELART ist zu einem großen Teil auch die Geschichte von Forced Entertainment, die mit ihrem SPIELART-Auftritt "Speak Bitterness" 1997 erstmals bei einem deutschen Festival gastierte. Seitdem hat SPIELART alle wichtigen neuen Kreationen von Forced Entertainment koproduziert, so 1999 die 24-Stunden-Vorstellung "Who can sing a song to unfrighten me?", die europaweit auf allen wichtigen Festivals gezeigt wurde, 2001 das Stück "First Night", das das Publikum in Entrüstete und Entzückte spaltete und 2003 „Bloody Mess", als vorläufiges Ergebnis eines Work-in-Progress, der 2004 zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum von Forced Entertainment abgeschlossen wurde.
"Eine der einflussreichsten neuen britischen Theaterkompanien der letzten 20 Jahre". (The Guardian, London)

Fanny & Alexander
Italien
Die Performancegruppe Fanny & Alexander wurde 1992 in Ravenna gegründet. Als eine der jüngsten Gruppen der "neuen Welle" des italienischen Neo-Avantgarde-Theaters wurden sie 1997 mit dem Premio Bertolucci und dem Premio Coppola Prati ausgezeichnet. Ein Zweig von Fanny & Alexander ist die Teddy Bear Company, die seit 1993 Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum realisiert

 

Station House Opera Großbritannien
Die Londoner Company Station House Opera wurde 1980 ins Leben gerufen und ist seither international für ihre erstaunlichen raumbezogenen Arbeiten bekannt.
Ihre Produktionen finden weltweit an den unterschiedlichsten Orten Stadt - von der New Yorker Brooklyn Bridge bis hin zu Dresdens Frauenkirche oder der Kathedrale in Salisbury.

Wim Vandekeybus/Ultima Vez Belgien
Wim Vandekeybus ist Regisseur, Choreograf, Schauspieler und Fotograf. Nach einer zweijährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Jan Fabre, schuf er sich seine eigene Arbeitsstruktur - Ultima Vez - eine Kompanie mit einem Dutzend junger Künstler und Schauspieler und mehreren künstlerischen, technischen und administrativen Mitarbeitern. 1999 war er mit „In Spite of Wishing and Wanting" zu Gast bei Spielart. Das Stück entstand in der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musiker David Byrne (ehemals „Talking Heads").

Teatr Cinema Polen
Das Teatr Cinema wurde 1992 von Zbigniew Szumski mit einer Gruppe von Malern aus Gdansk und Schauspielern aus Wroclaw gegründet. Seitdem erarbeitet die Company Stücke als "Aufbegehren der Phantasie gegen die Routine der Realität". Den Stil des Teatr Cinema prägt eine einzigartig vibrierende Poesie, inspiriert von René Magritte, Samuel Beckett und den Dadaisten. Das Teatr Cinema ist eine der auch international bekanntesten Theatergruppen Polens.
Jerzy Lukosz, einer der bekanntesten zeitgenössischen Autoren und Dramatiker Polens, sagt über die Arbeit des Teatr Cinema: "Jemand hat einmal gesagt, dass neunundneunzig Prozent von allem, was sich Kunst nennt, keineswegs Kunst sei. Wenn ich eines mit Gewissheit behaupten kann, dann dies: Das Werk des CINEMA-Theaters ist Teil des einen Prozents, das die Skeptiker für die Kunst reserviert haben. Kantor und Marthaler sind hier in guter Gesellschaft."

Alexander Gerner Deutschland
1998 stellte der Autor und Regisseur Alexander Gerner mit großem Erfolg in der Münchner Muffathalle die Multimedia-Performance "Zap Through My Life" vor, über die die Süddeutsche Zeitung schrieb: "Ohne zu moralisieren, gelingt es Alexander Gerner auf überzeugende Weise, die paradoxen Mechanismen einer von Voyeurismus und Exhibitionismus gesteuerten Medienmaschinerie transparent zu machen, in der wir längst unsere Rolle spielen, ob wir wollen oder nicht."

Stück für Stück - Ein Performance-Fest in sechs Gängen

Roman Signer/Pierre Favre Schweiz
Roman Signer, geboren in Appenzell, studierte in Zürich und Warschau, arbeitete in einer Dampfkochtopf-Firma und nahm 1999 an der Biennale in Venedig teil. Der in der Schweiz geborene Schlagzeuger und Perkussionist Pierre Favre war Mitglied diverser europäischer Big Bands und spielte mit Jazzgrößen aus Amerika und Europa. Sein Interesse an komplizierter Rhythmik und neuen Klängen führte ihn über den Free Jazz zur Weltmusik.

Seiji Shimoda Japan
Seiji Shimoda ist Performance-Künstler, Dichter und Künstlerischer Leiter von NIPAF (Nippon International Performance Art Festival). Er wurde 1951 in Nagano, Japan geboren, begann in der Schule Gedichte zu schreiben und entdeckte dann die Performance-Kunst. Shimoda oraganisiert das Nippon International Performance Art Festival seit 1993 und benutzt dafür sein umfangreiches Netzwerk internationaler Performance-Künstler.

Akemi Takeya Japan/Österreich
Die Tänzerin, Choreographin, Performerin und Musikerin Akemi Takeya stammt aus Japan. Sie hat die Strukturen des Butoh mit anderen japanischen und europäischen Tanzformen verwoben und so eine eigenständige Körper-Sprache entwickelt.

Maren Strack Deutschland
Maren Strack wurde 1967 in Hamburg geboren und studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. In ihren Performances bewegt sie sich zwischen Bildhauerei und Tanz. Aus Bewegung, Requisiten und Geräuschen setzt sie Geschichten zusammen, die jedem Zuschauer etwas anderes erzählen.
1995 erhielt Maren Strack ein Förderstipendium für Theater/Tanz der Landeshauptstadt München und war im Jahr 2001 Stipendiatin der Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart.

Fen-Ma Liuming
China
Fen-Ma Liuming wurde 1969 in Huangshi, China geboren. Die Themen seiner Performances sind von seinen Alltagserfahrungen geprägt, von seinem Außenseitertum, von der Kapitalisierung und den gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen in China. Seit 1993 lebt und arbeitet er in Peking, wo er 1995 wegen "Obszönität" seiner Performances für zwei Monate ins Gefängnis musste. Die Aufführung seiner Arbeiten ist in China nur in privaten Räumen gestattet.

Toshimasa Furukawa
Japan
Toshimasa Furukawa stammt aus Japan und versucht auf verschiedene Weise, seinen eigenen Körper zu vegetalisieren oder zu mineralisieren. Er betreibt ein Antiquariat in Osaka.

Actor's Choice - Schauspielerskizzen

Richard Crane/Marta Oldenburg Großbritannien/Schweden
Richard Crane, langjähriges Mitglied der Gruppe Remote Control und Akteur in Werbefilmen und B-Movies, lebt und arbeitet als freier Schauspieler und Performer in London. Die Schwedin Marta Oldenburg war als Tänzerin, Schauspielerin, Performerin, Akkordeonspielerin und Sängerin u. a. bei Remote Control und Ingmar Bergman engagiert.

Natali Seelig
Deutschland
Die Zeitschrift Theater heute kürte Natali Seelig 1998 zur "Schauspielerin des Jahres". Nach ihrer Ausbildung an der Otto-Falckenberg-Schule München, hatte sie 1992 ihr erstes Engagement am Staatstheater Hannover. Ein Jahr später wechselte sie mit dem Intendanten Eberhard Witt ans Bayerische Staatsschauspiel. Nach einem weiteren Engagement am Wiener Burgtheater ist Natali Seelig seit der Spielzeit 02/03 festes Mitglied im Ensemble des Thalia Theaters in Hamburg.

Viviane De Muynck/Martijn Vink
Belgien
Viviane De Muynck, langjährige Protagonistin der Needcompany in Brüssel, gilt weltweit als eine der namhaftesten freien Schauspielerinnen. Martijn Vink arbeitet als Cellist für verschiedene Ensembles.

Wu Wenguang/Walter Siegfried
China/Deutschland
Wu Wenguang lebt und arbeitet als Dokumentarfilmer und Performer in Peking. Der promovierte Psychologe Walter Siegfried ist als Performer und Sänger in München tätig.