Logo Spielart
Deutsch
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
What is SPIELART

Profile/Mission of SPIELART


SPIELART is Munich's window to the theatre world.

It spotlights what's happening in theatre far beyond the borders of Munich, and every two years in the autumn it presents theatre from all over the world: contemporary productions that contain new approaches and are frequently the subject of lively discussions. It invites audiences to take a journey for two weeks and explore a wide variety of subjects, theatre aesthetics, cultural landscapes and municipal spaces.


SPIELART is communicative.

The "live event" aspect of theatre allows for one of the rare moments of direct contact to the general public and for immediate communication. And even after the performances audiences participate in discussions with the artists. Theatre experts and theatre students exchange ideas on issues of the genre and the theatre community in symposiums and informal conversations, and also deal with. And in the evening the artists and festival guests join in the celebrations.


SPIELART is a bazaar for talent and ideas.

Many heads of theatres and international festival organizers, journalists and critics saw artists perform at SPIELART who started their careers here. SPIELART has also been frequently the stepping stone for Munich artists to the international scene.


SPIELART is an initiative.

The festival starts competitions, theatre symposiums, and points a spotlight at certain countries. Under the label "SPIELART Factory" SPIELART initiates new productions with artists of the festival and provides an international network for the Munich scene.

 

 

SPIELART is enduring.

The festival is not only a theater event lasting several weeks - it also backs long-term cooperations, developments and processes. For instance, it founded the European network "Theatre/Festivals in Transition," where cultural-political and artistic perspectives are discussed and developed. In addition, SPIELART is a forum for teaching students of theatre and cultural studies. SPIELART has a long-term cooperation with the Theaterwissenschaftliches Institut der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, which organizes one or two seminars during every SPIELART festival. Lectures and symposiums accompany the festival program and offer non-professionals as well as professionals the opportunity to take part in the discussion of contemporary developments. The resulting publications provide food for thought that goes far beyond the festival.

SPIELART is organized by Spielmotor München e.V.

Spielmotor München e.V. is an initiative of the City of Munich and the BMW Group. This non-profit organization has been a Public-Private-Partnership for over thirty years and is unique in the world as a forum for the cooperation between communal public services and a global player in the business world. It has been organizing the SPIELART festival since 1995; the festival is part of various international, German and Munich cultural networks. There is a long-term cooperation with the Münchner Kammerspiele; the Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel; the Muffathalle; the Bayerische Theaterakademie; Gasteig Cultural Center; many other local theatre and cultural institutions; and also with the Goethe Institute and many foreign cultural institutes.

Logo Spielart
English
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Was ist Spielart

SPIELART ist Münchens Fenster zur Theaterwelt.

Es richtet den Blick weit über München hinaus und zeigt
alle zwei Jahre im Herbst Theater aus aller Welt, aktuelle Inszenierungen, die neue Ansätze zeigen und oft heiß diskutiert werden. Es lädt das Publikum für zwei Wochen zu einer Reise ein durch verschiedenste Themen, Theaterästhetiken, kulturelle Landschaften und städtische Räume.

SPIELART ist kommunikativ.

Das Live-Ereignis Theater ermöglicht einen der wenigen Momente direkter Öffentlichkeit und unmittelbarer Kommunikation. Und auch nach den Aufführungen diskutiert das Publikum mit den Künstlern. Theaterfachleute und Studenten tauschen sich auf Fachsymposien und in informellen Gesprächen über die Fragen des Genres und der Theater-Community aus. Und am Abend wird mit den Künstlern und den Gästen des Festivals gefeiert.

SPIELART ist Talent- und Ideenbörse.

Viele Intendanten und internationale Veranstalter, Journalisten und Kritiker sahen bei SPIELART Künstler, die hier ihre Karriere erst starteten. Auch für Münchner Künstler war SPIELART schon häufig das Sprungbrett in die internationale Szene.

SPIELART ist initiativ.

Das Festival startet Wettbewerbe, Fachsymposien und Länderschwerpunkte. Unter dem Label SPIELART-Factory initiiert SPIELART neue Produktionen mit Künstlern des Festivals und vernetzt dabei die Münchner Szene international.


 

SPIELART ist nachhaltig.

Das Festival ist nicht nur ein mehrwöchiges Theaterereignis, sondern setzt auf langjährige Kooperationen, auf Entwicklung und Prozess. Es begründete zum Beispiel das europäische Netzwerk »Theatre/Festivals in Transition«, in dem kulturpolitische und künstlerische Perspektiven diskutiert und entwickelt werden. SPIELART ist zudem Forum für die Ausbildung von Theater- und Kulturwissenschaftlern. Es besteht eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Theaterwissenschaftlichen Institut der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, das zu jedem Festival ein bis zwei Seminare veranstaltet. Vorträge und Symposien begleiten das Festivalprogramm und bieten Laien sowie Fachleuten die Möglichkeit in die Diskussion um aktuelle Entwicklungen einzusteigen. Die in diesem Zusammenhang entstehenden Publikationen bieten Denkanstöße weit über das Festival hinaus.

SPIELART wird veranstaltet von
Spielmotor München e.V.

Spielmotor München e.V. ist eine Initiative der Stadt München und der BMW Group. Der gemeinnützige Verein ist eine seit fast 30 Jahren bestehende Public-Private-Partnership, ein weltweit einmaliges Forum der Zusammenarbeit von kommunaler öffentlicher Hand und einem Global Player auf dem Unternehmenssektor. Seit 1995 veranstaltet er das Festival SPIELART, das in verschiedenen internationalen, deutschen und Münchner Kulturnetzwerken operiert. Mit den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel, der Muffathalle, der Bayerischen Theaterakademie, dem Gasteig und vielen anderen Theatern und Kulturinstitutionen besteht eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit ebenso wie mit dem Goethe-Institut und vielen auswärtigen Kulturinstituten.