Logo Spielart
Deutsch
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Institution

Cultural Office of the City of Munich

The cultural exchange within the European Union is especially significant for cultural policies in big cities, because it contributes to the cultural self-awareness of a Europe that has common values and preserves the diversity of its cultures and languages. However, it is also indispensable, on the one hand, to invest in the exchange with non-European cultures, and on the other hand to integrate into the cultural process typical regional ways of life and their dynamic, continuous development.

The SPIELART theatre festival is particularly aware of this responsibility, and for this reason it is to one of the most important events sponsored by the Cultural Office of the City of Munich. In addition to young artists in the global theatre and performance scenes, the SPIELART festival also presents local groups, like, for example, Die Bairishe Geisha. It works closely with East European theatre festivals through the network initiative "Theatre/ Festivals in Transition (FIT)" and it initiates competitions, productions, coproductions and discussions on issues and problems relative to theatre.


 

SPIELART has established an excellent international profile through its work, and is the main focus of the Cultural Office's efforts in the area of long-term developments in theatre. Ultimately, these efforts thrive on the intensive and creative dialogues during the SPIELART festivals, which take place not only onstage during the festivals. A wide variety of dialogues also take place between the artists, audiences and organizers before and after the SPIELART festivals.

Logo Spielart
English
 
Das Theaterfestival in München
15.11. – 1.12.07
Träger

Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München

Der Kulturaustausch innerhalb der Europäischen Union ist für die großstädtische Kulturpolitik von besonderer Bedeutung, denn sie leistet einen Beitrag zum kulturellen Selbstverständnis eines Europas, das von gemeinsamen Werten getragen ist und die Vielfalt seiner Kulturen und Sprachen bewahrt. Unabdingbar ist aber auch in den Austausch mit außereuropäischen Kulturen einerseits zu investieren, anderseits regionaltypische Lebensformen und ihre dynamische Weiterentwicklung in den Kulturprozess einzubinden.

Das SPIELART-Festival nimmt diese Verantwortung in besonderer Weise wahr und zählt deshalb zu den wichtigsten Veranstaltungen, die vom Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München gefördert werden. Neben jungen Künstlern der weltweiten Theater- und Performance-Szene präsentiert das SPIELART-Festival auch ortsansässige Gruppen wie z.B. die Bairishe Geisha, arbeitet in der Netzwerk-Initiative »Theatre/Festivals in Transition (FIT)« eng mit osteuropäischen Theaterfestivals zusammen, und ergreift mit Wettbewerben, eigenen Produktionen, Koproduktionen und programmatischen Diskussionsveranstaltungen auch selbst die Initiative.


 

SPIELART hat sich damit ein herausragendes internationales Profil geschaffen und steht im Mittelpunkt der Bestrebungen des Kulturreferats um nachhaltige Entwicklungen im Theaterbereich. Diese leben nicht zuletzt vom intensiven und kreativen Dialog, der bei SPIELART nicht nur auf der Bühne, sondern sowohl vor und während als auch nach den Festivals in den unterschiedlichsten Formen zwischen Künstlern, Publikum und Organisatoren abläuft.